Urban Cinefile  
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Tuesday July 28, 2020 


The Rocket director Kim Mordaunt was awarded the ADG Award for Best Direction in a Feature Film at a black tie ceremony and dinner on Friday night, May 2. Best Direction in a Telemovie was awarded to Rowan Woods for The Broken Shore; Rachel Perkins won the Award for Best Direction in a TV Drama Series for Redfern Now (Series 2, Episode 2, Starting Over).

The ADG Awards celebrated the outstanding work of Australian screen directors over the past year across 16 categories including film, television, multiplatform, music and advertising.

“The winners include some of the industry’s most experienced directors, such as Ray Lawrence, Rowan Woods, Geoffrey Nottage and Rachel Perkins, but also reflect the incredible new talent rising through the ranks who are working across the various screen platforms,” said ADG Executive Director Kingston Anderson.

The Feature Documentary Award was presented to Sophia Turkiewicz for Once my Mother. A Festival circuit favourite, the film will be released theatrically in Australia in July.

Khoa Do won the Award for Best Direction In the TV Mini Series for Better Man and Geoffrey Nottage, nominated twice this year for his work on Home and Away, won Best Direction in a TV Drama serial for Episode 5713.

Daniel Nettheim received the Esben Storm Award for Best Direction in a Children’s TV Program for Dance Academy (Series 3 Episode 12, A Perfect Storm).

The Award for Best Direction in a Documentary Series went to Nick Robinson for Kakadu, Episode 4 and the Best Direction in a Documentary Stand Alone Award was won by Corrie Chen for Suicide and Me.

Matthew Saville won the Award for Best Direction in a TV Comedy for Please Like Me (Series 1, Episode 3 – Portuguese Custard Tarts).

Best Direction in a Short Film was won by Julietta Boscolo for Sam’s Gold, Best Direction in a Cross Platform Project was won by Michela Ledwidge for ACO Virtual and Best Direction in an Online Project by Sonny Vrebac for Hunter N Hornet (Appisode – Sunbathing).

The Award for Best Direction in a TV Commercial was won by Ray Lawrence for the NSW Teachers Federation’s First Day. Best Direction in a Music Video was won by David Barker for Nightingale Floor and Melissa Anastasi received the Best Direction in a Student Film Award for By This River.

Also announced at the ADG Awards was the 2014 recipient of the Finders Award – director Cationa McKenzie for her film Satellite Boy. The ADG, in partnership with the Directors Guild of America Finders series, selects one Australian feature film, which is yet to secure US distribution and is an entry in the 2014 ADG Awards, to screen in Los Angeles and New York to key industry figures, including distributors. 

The inaugural ADG Award for Innovation was awarded to Australian multi-platform content specialists HOODLUM.

Published May 2, 2014

Email this article

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020