Urban Cinefile  
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Tuesday September 15, 2020 


His latest feature film, Mad Max: Fury Road, has earned John Seale yet another accolade: the AACTA Award for Best Cinematography in a feature film – one of six craft awards collected by George Miller’s turbo charged action drama. FULL LIST OF WINNERS

John Seale on location for Mad Max: Fury Road

Presented on November 30, 2015, the craft awards also hailed Paper Planes (Best Original Screenplay), Last Cab to Darwin (Best Adapted Screenplay) and The Dressmaker (Best Costume Design).

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD also picked up the AACTA Award for Best Sound for an outstanding ensemble of practitioners; two past Oscar winners Chris Jenkins and Gregg Rudloff were awarded with two past Oscar nominees Mark Mangini and Scott Hecker, along with David White (who holds previous AFI and AACTA Award nominations), Ben Osmo (whose AACTA Award-winning work includes THE SAPPHIRES) and Wayne Pashley (who last won an AACTA Award for his work on THE GREAT GATSBY).

Tom Holkenborg aka Junkie XL won the AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score for MAD MAX: FURY ROAD, the AACTA Award for Best Editing went to Margaret Sixel, and the AACTA Award for Best Production Design was awarded to Colin Gibson.

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD was also awarded the AACTA Award for Best Visual Effects or Animation, seeing all six winners receive their first AFI or AACTA Award nomination and win; Andrew Jackson, Holly Radcliffe, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams, Tom Wood and Fiona Crawford.

The 5th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Presto, is telecast on Channel 7 on Wednesday, December, 9, which includes the Best Film, Best Director and Best Actor awards.

Email this article

John Seale - AACTA Award for Best Cinematography for Mad Max: Fury Road


Paper Planes - best original screenplay

Last Cab to Darwin - best adapted screenplay

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020