Urban Cinefile  
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Tuesday July 28, 2020 


In the first nominations of the 2002 film awards season, the FCCA (Film Critics Circle of Australia) has signalled the recognition of films with Aboriginal themes with three of the Best Film nominees – and the nomination of Aboriginal filmmaker Ivan Sen for the Best Director award.

Not unexpectedly, Australian Rules, Rabbit Proof Fence and The Tracker are Best Film Nominees, together with Walking On Water. And while Beneath Clouds is not nominated for Best Film, its director, Ivan Sen, is in the running for Best Director. (Australian Rules director Paul Goldman did not make the Best Director nominations list.)

Perhaps the only real surprise is the absence of Rachel Griffiths from the Best Actress nominations, underlining the strength of roles and performances in this category. However, her short film, Roundabout, is in the running.

The FCCA has also announced that Showtime continues as Major Sponsor, with other sponsors including Michell Sillar, Transfield Holdings, Film Finance Corporation Australia, AFTRS, Allens Arthur Robinson, Spectrum Films, Film Australia, CLPR, Sanyo, Screensound Australia, Filmink Magazine and SBS. (The Australian Film Commission also supports the awards.)

The AFTRS Emerging Talent Award and The Documentary Critics Panel Award will be announced next week.

The Film Critics Circle Of Australia is the body representing professional film critics writing and/or broadcasting in major media outlets; Awards will be presented on Thursday October 31, 2002 At Dockside, Cockle Bay, Sydney. Some tickets are available to the public.

Best Film: 
Australian Rules (Producer: Mark Lazarus), Rabbit Proof Fence (Producers: Phillip Noyce, Christine Olsen), The Tracker (Producers: Rolf De Heer, Julie Ryan), Walking On Water (Producer: Liz Watts).

Best Director: 
Tony Ayres (Walking On Water), Rolf De Heer (The Tracker), Phillip Noyce (Rabbit Proof Fence), Ivan Sen (Beneath Clouds).

Best Actress: 
Toni Collette (Dirty Deeds), Dannielle Hall (Beneath Clouds), Everlyn Sampi (Rabbit Proof Fence), Maria Theodorakis (Walking On Water).

Best Actor: 
Vince Colosimo (Walking On Water), David Gulpilil (The Tracker), Guy Pearce (The Hard Word), Nathan Phillips (Australian Rules).

Best Supporting Actress: 
Judi Farr (Walking On Water), Lisa Flanagan (Australian Rules), Celia Ireland (Australian Rules), Kestie Morassi (Dirty Deeds).

Best Supporting Actor:
Luke Carroll (Australian Rules), Joel Edgerton (The Hard Word), Simon Westaway (Australian Rules), Sam Worthington (Dirty Deeds).

Best Original Screenplay: 
David Caesar (Dirty Deeds), Rolf De Heer (The Tracker), Roger Monk (Walking On Water), Michael Petroni (Till Human Voices Wake Us).

Best Screenplay (Adapted From Another Source): 
Paul Cox (The Diaries Of Vaslav Nijinsky), Phillip Gwynne With Paul Goldman (Australian Rules), Christine Olsen (Rabbit Proof Fence).

Best Editing: 
Reva Childs (Walking On Water), Martin Connor (The Hard Word), Tania Nehme (The Tracker), Mark Perry (Dirty Deeds).

Best Music Score: 
Peter Gabriel (Rabbit Proof Fence), Graham Tardif And Rolf De Heer (Songs Sung By Archie Roach For The Tracker), David Thrussell (The Hard Word), Alister Spence and Ivan Sen (Beneath Clouds).

Best Foreign Film – English Language: 
Gosford Park (Director: Robert Altman), Monster’s Ball (Director: Marc Forster), Mulholland Drive (Director: David Lynch).

Best Foreign Language Film: 
The Circle (Director: Jafar Panahi), Italian For Beginners (Director: Lone Scherfig), Y Tu Mama Tambien (Director: Alfonso Cuaron).

Best Cinematography: 
Allan Collins (Beneath Clouds), Christopher Doyle (Rabbit Proof Fence), Ian Jones (The Tracker), Mandy Walker (Australian Rules).

Best Documentary: 
A Wedding In Ramallah (Director/Producer: Sherine Salama), Black Chicks Talking (Director: Leah Purcell, Brendan Fletcher, Producer: Bain Stewart), Fond Memories Of Cuba (Director/Producer: David Bradbury), Much Ado About Something (Director: Michael Rubbo, Producers: Michael Rubbo And Penny Macdonald).

Best Short Film: 
China Face (Director: Anna Jeffries), Into The Dark (Director: Dennis Tupicoff), Living With Happiness (Director: Sarah Watt), Roundabout (Director: Rachel Griffiths), The Only Person In The World (Director: Ben Chessell).

Email this article

Phil Noyce - Rabbit Proof Fence - Soundtrack

Ivan Sen - Beneath Clouds

Australian Rules

Rolf De Heer - The Tracker - Soundtrack

Vince Colosimo - Walking on Water

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020