Urban Cinefile
"Playing M (in Bond) and then playing Queen Victoria was just like my whole career"  -Judi Dench on the variety of her film roles
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Wednesday August 14, 2019 



Australia's first and only film Scholarship prize, The Commonwealth Bank Reel Deal Short Film Festival, gave away over $20,000 in cash and prizes at the gala awards ceremony on Saturday August 2 at Revesby Workers Club. The night was hosted by comedian Kitty Flannigan and attended by Bryan Brown, patron of the festival who lends his name to the film scholarship, together with Rachel Ward, director Mark Joffe and TV & radio personality Jonathan Coleman, and guest judge Serhat Caradee.

With the involvement of AFTRS, UWS, TVS and the Cumberland News Group, the awards are an opportunity for young film makers to showcase their talent and work in front of people who can help shape their careers. Plus the practical and generous cash support from sponsors including the Commonwealth Bank, Bankstown City Council and Revesby Workers’ Club ….

A number of 2008 finalists were return entrants from previous years. Rob Leggo and Kiah Roach-Turner in particular impressed the judges, Both Kiah and Rob took the opportunity to film at the newly introduced location of Broken Hill with funding supplied by Film Broken Hill, Bankstown City Council and free travel compliments of City Rail. Their two films which each claimed three awards on the night, and left Bryan Brown unable to choose one above the other for the major prize. Brown instead opted to award the scholarship to the winner of a coin toss on stage at the awards, because both young men were equally deserving of the accolade.

Rob Leggo won the coin toss and was awarded the Bryan Brown film scholarship.

The Commonwealth Bank $5,000 Best Film award this year went to Kiah Roache-Turner for ROAD RUNNER.

RAGE OF JUSTICE by Toby Morris & Nicholas Aplin took the $1,000 Peoples Choice Award sponsored by Bankstown City Council. And our youngest ever entrant, Daniel Woods at just 13 years of age, was awarded $1,000 as an encouragement award to develop his potential as an animator. The film festival has become so popular that a 13 year old believed he has a chance to show his talent, what a great achievement.

“We are so proud of all our finalist and want to send a big congratulations. Also we would like to extend a big thank you to all our judges and sponsors for a great year” says Amanda Mikhail, Marketing Manager, Revesby Workers Club. “We look forward to an even bigger 2009 Reel Deal Film Festival, with more talent”

The 2008 Winners:
BRYAN BROWN FILM SCHOLARSHIP - Rob Leggo – OBSERVATION $5,000 Scholarship. Sponsored by Revesby Workers Club
BEST FILM ROAD RUNNER – Kiah Roache-Turner $5,000 Cash Prize. Sponsored by The Commonwealth Bank
Kiah Roache-Turner - ROAD RUNNER $1,000 Cash Prize
Rob Leggo –OBSERVATION $1,000 Cash Prize
BEST ART DIRECTION Kevin White - END OF THE LINE $1,000 Cash Prize
BEST SCRIPT Eduardo Garcia - SHARED LIVING $1,000 Cash Prize
BEST EDITOR Rob Leggo –OBSERVATION $1,000 Cash Prize
BEST ORIGINAL MUSIC Nick Whitehead - RAGE OF JUSTICE $1,000 Cash Prize
BEST ACTOR Jay Gallagher -ROAD RUNNER $1,000 Cash Prize
RAGE OF JUSTICE - Toby Morris & Nicholas Aplin
$1,000 Cash Prize – voted by the public. Sponsored by Bankstown City Council BEST ANNIMATION (Encouragement Award) Daniel Woods – COCOON $1,000 Prize to be used for further study or equipment/software to develop potential in the area of animation.

Email this article

Road Runner

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2019