Urban Cinefile
"The only 'ism' in Hollywood is plagiarism."  -Dorothy Parker
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Tuesday September 15, 2020 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



If Awards winners demonstrate youth skew in voters, with Tomorrow When The War Began scooping the pool, followed by Animal Kingdom. Andrew L. Urban reports.

Caitlin Stasey’s win of the Best Actress category at the IF Awards, underlines that the primary demographic of the voters in the IF Awards is young, given that Jacki Weaver was also nominated for her astonishing performance in Animal Kingdom. 

This is not to disparage Stasey’s achievement – she was, after all, one of the four nominees – but to reflect on the difference between the IF Awards and the AFI Awards. In a way it makes them both more legitimacy, highlighting the differences between them. 

This factor also played against Mao’s Last Dancer, which, like another nominee, Beneath Hill 60, appeal to a slightly older demographic than IF voters. But again, no disrespect to Best Feature winner Tomorrow When The War Began, a big budget Australian film aimed squarely at the youth market. Indeed, these awards for the film will buttress the confidence of its financier, Omnilab, to pursue its slate of higher budget films.

Likewise, TWTWB won the best script and Best Music Awards, muscling out Christopher Gordon’s score Mao’s Last Dancer – a favourite. But Mao did win the box office achievement award …

"Bryan Brown was presented the Living Legend Award by Jack Thompson"

Bryan Brown was presented the Living Legend Award by Jack Thompson – in a direct reversal of two years ago.

The two new awards recognising contributions in television: Out of the Box IF Award was awarded to an actor expected to have a bright future in the world of film, Ryan Corr best known for his roles in Underbelly and Packed to the Rafters. The Award for Contribution to TV was awarded to Penny Chapman who is responsible for some of Australia’s best loved dramas, in a career spanning 25 years.

There were no other ‘surprises’ in the IF Awards, except perhaps in presentation: Angus Sampson had to contend with a 10 year old mini-me version of himself – who was better – and an unexpected departure from the script (given the show was being televised for later broadcast on SBS and Showtime) by Rhys Muldoon.

The production – at the City Recital Hall in Sydney’s Angel Place - was well paced, but the voice overs, planned to be comic time fillers, delivered while winners approached the stage to collect their awards, were mostly inaudible and so long that winners had to stand by the lectern for it to finish in an embarrassed silence.

The SHOWTIME MOVIE CHANNELS IF Award for Best Feature Film

Tomorrow When The War Began – Stuart Beattie (Director), Andrew Mason and Michael Boughen (Producers)

The AFTRS IF Award for Best Director
David Michôd – Animal Kingdom

The Events New South Wales IF Award for Best Actor
Ben Mendelsohn – Animal Kingdom

The IF Award for Best Actress
Caitlin Stasey – Tomorrow When The War Began

The Jameson IF Award for Best Script
Tomorrow When The War Began – Stuart Beattie

The Dinosaur Design IF Award for Best Music
Tomorrow When The War Began – Johnny Klimek, Reinhold Heil

The SA Film IF Award for Best Sound
Beneath Hill 60 – Robert Sullivan, Liam Egan, Mark Cornish, Tony Murtagh

The AVID IF Award for Best Editing
The Waiting City – Veronika Jenet

The Dyson IF Award for Best Production Design
Bright Star – Janet Patterson

The CineAlta by SONY IF Award for Best Cinematography
The Waiting City – Denson Baker

The NSFA Independent Spirit IF Award
Caught Inside – Adam Blaiklock (Director), Paul S Friedmann (Producer)

The EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent
Ariel Kleiman

The Holding Redlich IF Award for Best Short Film
Celestial Avenue – Colin and Cameron Cairnes (Directors), Scott Alexander (Producer)

The Autodesk IF Award for Best Short Animation

The Lost Thing – Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann (Directors), Sophie Byrne (Producer)

The FACB IF Award for Best Short Documentary
From Dope to Dalai Lama – Jason Raftopoulos (Director and Producer)

The SBS IF Award for Best Documentary

Strange Birds in Paradise – Charlie Hill-Smith (Director), Jamie Nicolai and John Cherry (Producers)

The SAE IF Award for Best Music Video
Big Jet Plane – Angus and Julia Stone – Kiku Ohe (Director), Richard Halsted (Producer)

The Resolution IF Award for Box Office Achievement
Mao’s Last Dancer
Producer Jane Scott
Director Bruce Beresford
Writer Jan Sardi

The Kodak Living Legend IF Award
Bryan Brown

The Four Cows & Otto Empire IF Award for Best Film Festival
Mardi Gras Film Festival, My Queer Career

The Media Super Out of the Box IF Award
Ryan Corr

The Docklands Studios Melbourne IF Award for Contribution to TV

Penny Chapman

Published November 15, 2010

Email this article


The 2010 Kodak Inside Film Awards Sydney will be broadcast as follows:
Wed 24 Nov-SBS at 10.00pm
Sun 28 Nov–showcase at 17:50pm
Mon 29 Nov-showcase at 06:55am
Thur 2 Dec-showcase at 18:50pm
Fri 3 Dec-showcase at 10:45am

Bryan Brown - Living Legend

David Michod
(Pic. Belinda Roland, Kodak IF Awards Sydney)

Ben Mendelsohn

Caitlin Stasey
(Pic. Belinda Roland, Kodak IF Awards Sydney)


© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020