Urban Cinefile
"I really don't know what acting means to me anymore, to tell you the truth - "  -Jessica Lange (in mid 2000)
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Monday June 15, 2020 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



Producer Sophie Hyde has two feature docos nominated for the first of the newly minted AACTAs – Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards: Life in Movement produced with Bryan Mason and Shut Up Little Man! An Audio Misadventure, produced with Matthew Bate.

Mrs Carey’s Concert from Bob Connolly and The Tall Man from Darren Dale are the two other nominees in this category.

Nominees for the AACTA Award for Best Short Animation: 
Forget Me Not - Emily Dean
The Missing Key - Garth Nix, Anna McFarlane, Jonathan Nix
The Moment - Justin Wight, Kristian Moliere, Troy Bellchambers, Shane McNeil
Nullarbor - Alister Lockhart, Patrick Sarell, Katrina Mathers, Merrin Jensen, Daryl Munton

Nominees for the AACTA Award for Best Short Fiction Film: 
Adam’s Tallit - Justin Olstein, Marie Maroun
Cropped - Bettina Hamilton, Dave Wade
The Palace - Kate Croser, Anthony Maras, Andros Achilleos
The Telegram Man - James F. Khehtie, Victoria Wharfe McIntyre

The AACTA Awards are a continuum of the Australian Film Institute (AFI) Awards, which have been awarding screen excellence in Australia since 1958.

The general public as well as AACTA/AFI members will be invited to view nominated Non Feature Films, as well as the 23 Feature Films in Competition, on the big screen at the Samsung AFI ˛ AACTA Festival of Film, to be held in Sydney and Melbourne from 6 October until 14 November. 

Nominees in the Feature Film, Television and remaining Non Feature Film categories* will be announced at the inaugural Samsung AACTA Awards Nominations Announcement in November. 

The non-feature nominations (Documentary, Short Fiction Film and Short Animation) yet to be announced are: the AACTA Award for Best Documentary Under One Hour; the AACTA Award for Best Documentary Series; the AACTA Award for Best Direction in a Documentary; the AACTA Award for Best Cinematography in a Documentary; the AACTA Award for Best Editing in a Documentary; the AACTA Award for Best Sound in a Documentary; and the AACTA Award for Best Screenplay in a Short Film.

Published September 1, 2011

Email this article

Mrs Carey's Concert

The Telegram Man

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020