Urban Cinefile
the girl from the naked eye
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Thursday, November 20, 2014 - Edition No 924 
AThousandTimes Goodnight

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE

Newsletter Options - Registration is FREE Help/Contact


Cannes Festival President Gilles Jacob paid generous tribute to Jane Campion this week as he announced her as the head of the prestigious Cinéfondation and Short Film Jury of the 66th Festival de Cannes.

Jacob said, “Jane is a child of Cannes. I know this as it was I who selected her first three short films for the festival, because I liked her style and consistency. Naïvely perverse young girls, teens closed in around their solitude, and women mulling over desires and regrets: Jane’s is a passionate universe that she firmly holds in check as she draws these intricate group portraits. I am delighted that the love story between Lady Jane and the festival continues today as she takes on the role of president.”

The Cinéfondation and Short Film Jury is comprised of five eminent figures from the worlds of film and literature and they choose their three prize winners from among the Cinéfondation’s selection of film school entrants. Previously this position has been held by Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Michel Gondry, Hou Hsiao-Hsien, Martin Scorsese and John Boorman. The jury also chooses the winner of the Short Film Palme d’Or, which is presented during the closing ceremony of the festival.

Jane Campion has a long history of acclaim with the Cannes Film Festival. In 1986, Campion’s short film Peel won the Palme d’Or and garnered interest from critics all over the world for her debut feature film Sweetie, which appeared in Competition at the Festival de Cannes. After An Angel at My Table, she returned to Cannes with The Piano, which won the Palme d’Or in 1993 as well as the Best Actress award for Holly Hunter. Her most recent film Bright Star, a fictional biography of the poet Keats and his muse, was presented in Competition at Cannes in 2009.

Email this article

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2014