Urban Cinefile
"I found that prickly stuff above somebody's lip is what women are up against"  -Tom Selleck on that kiss with Kevin Kline in In & Out
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Monday June 15, 2020 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



Paul Hogan's contribution to Australian cinema was honoured with the Longford Lyell Award and Isla Fisher won the Trailblazer Award at this year's AACTA Awards.

Hacksaw Ridge

HACKSAW RIDGE followed an impressive four Awards at Monday’s Industry Luncheon with a further five Awards including: Best Film presented by Foxtel and Best Original Screenplay (awarded to Andrew Knight and Robert

Mel Gibson received the AACTA Award for Best Direction, fourteen years after receiving his last AFI or AACTA accolade, the AFI Global Achievement Award, and twenty years since receiving the Best Direction Oscar® for B raveheart.

Receiving Awards for their performances in HACKSAW RIDGE were Andrew Garfield, for Best Lead Actor, and Hugo Weaving, receiving the AACTA Award for Best Supporting Actor for the second year in a row.

THE DAUGHTER scooped up the remaining two performance Awards, totaling three Awards for the 6th AACTA Awards season.

Miranda Otto received her first AACTA Award for Best Supporting Actress, following five previous AFI Award nominations. Odessa Young received the AACTA Award for Best Lead Actress at just eighteen, making her the youngest of the seven actresses to win the Award for their Feature Film debut.

Oscar® and Emmy Award winner Eva Orner’s powerful documentary, CHASING ASYLUM, received the AACTA Award for Best Feature Length Documentary.

A Ceremony highlight was the presentation of Australia’s highest screen accolade, the AACTA Longford Lyell Award, to Paul Hogan AM.

Among Paul’s screen credits, which span four decades, are: the iconic CROCODILE DUNDEE, for which he received Oscar and BAFTA nominations, and won the Golden Globe Award for Best Actor – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy; THE PAUL HOGAN SHOW, which saw him win two Logie Awards for Best Comedy Performer; and his true-blue Australian advertisements, including the Australian Tourism ad which spawned the catchphrase “throw another shrimp on the barbie”.

The Award was presented to Paul by Shane Jacobson, with touching tributes from Michael Caton, Ernie Dingo, Delvene Delaney, John Brown, Peter Faiman, Adam Hills and Dave Hughes, among others.

Recognising the achievements of screen practitioners who inspire others with their portfolio of work, the AACTA Trailblazer Award was presented to Isla Fisher, who attended the Ceremony with her husband Sacha Baron Cohen.

An AACTA Award and Logie nominated actress, and self-described ‘comic-actress’, Isla is a strong advocate for comedic roles for women in Hollywood and is also an acclaimed dramatic actress and successful author.

Acclaimed artist and director, Lynette Wallworth was the recipient of the Byron Kennedy Award, which celebrates outstanding creative enterprise within the screen industry and includes a $10,000 prize. Known for her innovative use of virtual reality, Lynette’s career spans the globe, masterfully moving across continents and uniting international audiences.

Elizabeth Debicki and Samuel Johnson both won their second AFI or AACTA Awards tonight, receiving the AACTA Awards for Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama for THE KETTERING INCIDENT (Foxtel, Showcase) and Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama for MOLLY (Seven Network), respectively.

THE KETTERING INCIDENT (Foxtel, Showcase) also received the AACTA Award for Best Telefeature or Mini Series, while the hugely popular WENTWORTH (Foxtel, SoHo) received the AACTA Award for Best Television Drama Series.

In the comedy category, ABC’s UPPER MIDDLE BOGAN earned its first AACTA Award for Best Television Comedy Series.

Also receiving their first Awards were Sarah Scheller and Alison Bell, who received the AACTA Award for Best Screenplay in Television for ABC COMEDY SHOWROOM – THE LETDOWN (ABC).

Having received its fifth consecutive nomination, MASTERCHEF AUSTRALIA (Network Ten) scooped up the AACTA Award for Best Reality Television Series for the second year in a row.

GRUEN (ABC) received the AACTA Award for Best Light Entertainment Television Series, while DESTINATION FLAVOUR SCANDINAVIA (SBS) received the inaugural AACTA Award for Best Lifestyle Television Program.

WWII drama HACKSAW RIDGE led the Awards count in the technical awards, winning four out of a possible six nominations. Oscar and BAFTA nominee John Gilbert received his first AACTA Award, for Best Editing. The AACTA Award for Best Production Design was awarded to Barry Robison, best known for his work on X-MEN ORIGINS: WOLVERINE and THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA: THE VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER.

The AACTA Award for Best Cinematography went to Simon Duggan ACS, who previously won the category at the 3rd AACTA Awards for THE GREAT GATSBY. Also winning for HACKSAW RIDGE were Andrew Wright, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Mario Vaccaro, Tara Webb and Peter Grace ASSG, who won the AACTA Award for Best Sound.

Antony Partos AGSC received the AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score for TANNA, marking his sixth AFI or AACTA Award for an Original Music Score in film, television, or documentary.

Simon Stone received the AACTA Award for Best Adapted Screenplay for his debut feature film THE DAUGHTER, an adaptation of his Belvoir Street Theatre production of Henrik Ibsen’s The Wild Duck.

Receiving his first AACTA Award, also for an adaptation of a stage production, was Jonathon Oxlade, who took home the AACTA Award for Best Costume Design for GIRL ASLEEP.

The AACTA Award for Best Short Animation was presented to Angie Fielder, Brendan Fletcher and two-time Archibald Award Winner Del Kathryn Barton for OSCAR WILDE'S "THE NIGHTINGALE AND THE ROSE". The heart-warming drama DREAM BABY received the AACTA Award for Best Short Fiction Film (awarded to Lucy Gaffy and Kiki Dillon) and included stand out performances by Darcey Wilson and Robyn Malcolm.

Email this article

Paul Hogan

Isla Fisher

Hacksaw Ridge

The Daughter

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020