Urban Cinefile
"I was very lucky: all the battles I fought with the studio were to do with money and time, and nothing to do with the artistic choices "  -Sam Mendes on directing American Beauty
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Monday June 15, 2020 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



Clearly, the AFI voting membership has remembered The Dish, which was not in the running last year, but is nominated among the Best Films. There’s no hint of a subversive frame of mind evident in the nominations list, although some of you may think that nominations in a few categories are worth a decent barney over a beer.

Below is the list of nominees, except for the two special awards – the Raymond Longford and the Byron Kennedy, and the newly introduced $10,000 Harper’s Bazaar Screenwriters Prize, which are all awarded by special juries.

Emirates AFI Award for Best Film
Producer: Jan Chapman
Director: Ray Lawrence
Screen Writer: Andrew Bovell

Moulin Rouge
Producers: Baz Luhrmann, Martin Brown, & Fred Baron
Director: Baz Luhrmann
Screen Writer: Baz Luhrmann & Craig Pearce

The Bank
Producer: John Maynard
Director & Screen Writer: Robert Connolly

The Dish
Producers: Santo Cilauro, Michael Hirsh, Tom Gleisner, Jane Kennedy,
Rob Sitch
Director: Rob Sitch
Screen Writers: Santo Cilauro, Tom Gleisner, Jane Kennedy & Rob Sitch

AFI Award for Best Direction
Lantana - Ray Lawrence
Moulin Rouge - Baz Luhrmann
The Bank - Robert Connolly
Mullet - David Caesar

Harper's BAZAAR AFI Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role
Alice Ansara - La Spagnola
Kerry Armstrong - Lantana
Nicole Kidman -Moulin Rouge
Lola Marceli - La Spagnola

Showtime AFI Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role
Anthony LaPaglia - Lantana
David Wenham - The Bank
Ewan McGregor - Moulin Rouge
Ben Mendelsohn - Mullet

Jan Logan AFI Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Rachael Blake - Lantana
Daniela Farinacci - Lantana
Lourdes Bartolome - La Spagnola
Belinda McClory - Mullet

Beyond International AFI Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Vince Colosimo - Lantana
Alex Dimitriades - La Spagnola
Andrew S. Gilbert - Mullet
Richard Roxburgh - Moulin Rouge

The Kirketon AFI Award for Best Costume Design
La Spagnola - Margot Wilson
Lantana - Margot Wilson
Moulin Rouge - Catherine Martin & Angus Strathie
The Bank - Annie Marshall

AFI Award for Best Sound
La Spagnola - Peter Grace, Phil Judd & Andrew Plain
Lantana - Syd Butterworth, Andrew Plain & Robert Sullivan
Moulin Rouge - Andy Nelson, Roger Savage & Guntis Sics
The Bank - Phil Heywood, Sam Petty & Andrew Ramage

Complete Post AFI Award for Best Editing
La Spagnola - Alexandre De Franceshi
Lantana - Karl Sodersten
Moulin Rouge - Jill Bilcock
Yolngu Boy - Ken Sallows

AFI Award for Best Original Music Score
La Spagnola - Cezary Skubiszewski
The Bank - Alan John
Lantana - Paul Kelly
The Dish - Edmund Choi

GMD AFI Award for Best Production Design
La Spagnola - Dee Molineaux
Lantana - Kim Buddee
Moulin Rouge - Catherine Martin
The Bank - Luigi Pittorino

The Australian AFI Award for Best Original Screenplay
La Spagnola - Anna-Maria Monticelli
Mullet - David Caesar
The Bank - Robert Connolly
Yolngu Boy - Chris Anastassiades

AFI Award for Best Screenplay Adapted from Another Source
He Died With a Felafel in His Hand - Richard Lowenstein
Lantana - Andrew Bovell
Silent Partner - Daniel Keene
The Monkey's Mask - Anne Kennedy

Empire AFI Award for Best Cinematography
Moulin Rouge - Donald M McAlpine ACS/ASC
La Spagnola - Steve Arnold
The Bank - Tristan Milani
Yolngu Boy - Brad Shield

AFI Award for Best Foreign Film
Almost Famous
Producer: Ian Bryce, Cameron Crowe
Director: Cameron Crowe
Screen Writer: Cameron Crowe

Billy Elliot
Producers: Tessa Ross, David M Thompson, Natascha Wharton
Director: Stephen Daldry
Screen Writer: Lee Hall

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Producer: Ang Lee & James Schamus
Director: Ang Lee
Screen Writers: James Schamus, Tsai Kuo-Jung, Wang Hui-Ling

In The Mood For Love
Producer, Writer, Director & Screen Writer: Wong Kar-Wai



AFI Award for Best Documentary
(Awarded to producer/s)
Producer & Director: Dennis O’Rourke

Facing the Music
Producers & Directors: Bob Connolly & Robin Anderson

Playing the Game
Producers: Andrew Ogilvie & Peter Du Cane
Directors: Peter Du Cane & Matthew Kelley

Producers: Andrew Wiseman & Richard Keddie
Director: Andrew Wiseman

AFI Award for Best Direction in a Documentary
Dennis O’Rourke

Facing the Music
Bob Connolly, Robin Anderson

Losing Layla
Vanessa Gorman

Andrew Wiseman

Atlab Award for Best Short Fiction Film
(Awarded to Director/s)
The Big House
Director & Writer: Rachel Ward
Producer: Henrietta Hartford Davis

Delivery Day
Director: Jane Manning
Producer: Liz Watts
Writer: Khoa Do

Inja (Dog)
Director & Writer: Steve Pasvolsky
Producer: Joanne Weatherstone

Saturn’s Return
Director: Wenona Byrne
Producer: Helen Panckhurst
Writer: Christos Tsiolkas

AFI Award for Best Short Animation
Bad Baby Amy
Director: Anthony Lucas
Producers: Anthony Lucas, Edwina von Stiegler

The Collective
Director: Norah Mulroney
Producer: Daniella Ortega

The Exploding Woman
Director: Nancy Allen
Producer: Melissa Johnson

Living with Happiness
Producer & Director: Sarah Watt

AFI Award for Best Screenplay in a Short Fiction Film
Delivery Day
Khoa Do

The Big House
Rachel Ward

Inja (Dog)
Steve Pasvolsky

Sparky D Comes to Town
Kris Mrksa

Kodak AFI Award for Best Cinematography in a Non-Feature Film
City of Dreams
Andre Fleuren

Bird In The Wire
John Brawely

Island life - Macquarie Island
Wade Fairley

One Night The Moon
Kim Batterham

AFI Award for Best Sound in a Non-Feature Film

Australians at War
Julian Ellingworth, John Patterson

The Collective
Katy Wood

Facing the Music
Robin Anderson, Andrew Plain & Robert Sullivan

Sam Petty & Yulia Akerholt

AFI Award for Best Editing in a Non-Feature Film

Australians at War
Melanie Sandford

Rubber Gloves
Rebecca Murphy

Secret Safari
Emma Hay

Merlin Cornish & Robert Forsyth

AFI Award for Open Craft Award in a Non-Feature Film

Australians at War for Screenplay
Michael Caulfield

Circa for Original Concept & Realisation
Sally Bongers & Paul Elliot

Harvey for Special Effects
Peter McDonald

One Night The Moon for Original Score
Mairead Hannan, Kev Carmody & Paul Kelly

Email this article

Moulin Rouge

The Dish


The Bank

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020