Urban Cinefile
".the sex symbol of geekdom and nerdiness, the pinup hunk of the losers' tribe - Noah Taylor.."  -The Bitch, in Urban Cinefile, about Australia's love of losers, viz Shine
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Tuesday September 15, 2020 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



Lantana was awarded four if awards including Best Film and Best Script, with Moulin Rouge winning Best Cinematography and Music, in a presentation ceremony telecast on SBS from Sydney’s Wharf 8, attended by Sydney’s flickerati.

Miniature bottles of Spanish bubbly, plastics of orange juice, Rymill wines and Hahn beer fuelled the evening with a celebratory feel reflected in on-stage remarks extolling the virtues of Australian filmmaking.

Supported by a clutch of sponsors like Lexus (signed for 5 years as naming rights sponsor), the if awards attracted an enthusiastic crowd to Wharf 8, including Nicole Kidman, Baz Luhrmann, CM and John Cha Cha O’Connell on the Bazmark table, Sacha Horler, Toni Collette (with shaved head), Nick Giannopoulos, Peter Phelps, Jacqui Mackenzie and American star Laurence Fishburn.

The televised presentation was hosted by the inimitable Libby Gorr, and was remarkable for a short segment in which Gorr’s face was morphed into David Stratton’s, who lip-synched Gorr’s words to the amusement of all. Stratton himself was not present physically, but his Movie Show sparring partner, Margaret Pomeranz, was executive producer of the telecast, and she presented the Living Legend award (see below).

Lantana’s Anthony LaPaglia (he sent a nice acceptance speech by video) was named Best Actor and Ray Lawrence Best Director, to join producer Jan Chapman and writer Andrew Bovell on the winner’s podium. (Bovell also came via video.)

For Moulin Rouge, it was cinematographer Don McAlpine and Craig Armstrong (original score) with additional music composed by Steve Sharples, Chris Elliott and Marius DeVries who collected the if awards.

The Best Actress Award was shared by the five actresses in Lantana’s ensemble cast - Barbara Hershey, Kerry Armstrong, Leah Purcell, Rachael Blake and Daniela Farinacci.

But the most memorable award went to a filmmaker who "demonstrated the creativity, tenacity and independence of vision required to make a compelling film, despite challenging circumstances: 16 year old Sophie McNeill, a truly remarkable teenager from Fremantle WA who made Awaiting Freedom, a documentary about the dire medical need that now exists in East Timor. Despite never having made a film before and being aged only 15, she had to convince her parents to let her fly to East Timor. Sophie had minimal resources and funds and had to overcome a bout of tropical disease while in East Timor." She accepted the award - on the even of her final English HSC exam.

The Bank won Best Editing, La Spagnola won Best Sound Design, Bob Connolly and Robin Anderson’s Facing the Music Best Documentary – and they were also awarded the Living Legend Award.

The Best Animation Award went to Bernard Derriman for Chopper (the animated short, that is); Best Short Film was Sarah Hatherley, Jenny Livingstone and Kim Snow’s Just Do It.

Bob Connolly and Robin Anderson won the Award for Best Documentary for Facing The Music, and were also honoured with the Living Legend Award for significant contribution to the Australian film industry, and for becoming a role model in their area of specialisation via their singular dedication to realising their creative vision.

Published midnight 7/11/2001

Email this article


Moulin Rouge

The Bank

If awards are organised by if magazine and votes are collected from audiences at festival and commercial screenings of Australian films. The presentation was held on Wednesday, November 7, 2001.

You can cast your vote on line for Australian films throughout the year: it's not so much voting as rating, so all films are equal...or have an equal chance, at the
if awards website

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020